Cabinet reshuffle: Who goes where?


Starr FM can report that President Akuffo Addo is putting together final touches to a major reshuffle to take place in the coming days. Information is quite sketchy but sources in the Office of the Chief of Staff at the Jubilee House on condition of anonymity told our reporter that the following appointees barring any unforeseen circumstances will be leaving the Presidency. They are Francis Asenso Boakye Deputy Chief of Staff who has parliamentary ambitions and has told close friends he feels restrained at the Presidency and Major General(rtd) Emmanuel Octhere, the National Security Advisor.

Staff FM can also report that the following Ministers are likely to be shown the exit. They are Albert Kan Dapaah Minister for National Security ,Ambrose Dery Minister for Interior, Atta Akyea Minister for Housing, Kofi Adda Minister for Aviation, Issac Asiamah Minister for Youth and Sports, Gloria Akuffo-Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Professor Frimpong Boateng Minister for Science and Technology, Salifu Saeed-Northern Regional Minister and Ishmael Ashitey-Greater Accra Regional Minister.

There is also speculation that Boakye Agyarko, the former Minister for Energy and Petroleum would return to the government but it’s not clear at this stage in what capacity he would be appointed.

There is speculation that the following appointments will be confirmed by the President. Minister for National Security is likely to go to Dr. Kwame Addo Kufuor, National Security Adviser to Lt General JB Danquah (rtd) and Deputy Chief of Staff-Phillip Addison. Cecelia Dapaah is likely to return to the Ministry of Aviation with Alexander Afenyo Markin likely to come into government as the Minister for Water and Sanitation.

Vincent Odotei Sowah is likely to become Minister for Sports, Dr. Matthew Poku Prempeh Minister for Interior, Ato Panford is to become Minister for Housing and Dr. Okoe Boye is to take over as Greater Accra Regional Minister.

Ibrahim Awal Mohammed is likely to head a new Ministry of Youth, Business Development and Entrepreneurship.
Dr. Ben Asante Chief Executive of Ghana Gas is also to be reassigned to the Ministry of Energy as an Adviser to the Minister of Energy with Immediate effect until a substantive chief executive is appointed.

The President, our sources say also intends to remove and replace 13 chief executives and 22 District Chief Executives in the coming weeks to reshape and strengthen the government to speedily deliver its policies and programs.

A reshuffle had been anticipated for months but sources at the Chief of staff office say their boss Madam Frema Opare, Executive Secretary Nana Bediatuo, Deputy Chief of Staff’s Francis Asenso Boakye and Abu Jinapor had been persuading the President to delay any reshuffle to next year February for some unexplained reason.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here